Majors Offered

Northwest Nazarene University offers undergraduate degrees in 40 majors. The degree requirements are given in this catalog in the section describing the sponsoring department. The majors offered are:

  • Accounting
  • Applied Studies
  • Art
  • Biblical Studies
  • Biology
  • Business Administration
  • Chemistry
  • Chinese Studies
  • Christian Ministry
  • Communication
  • Computer Graphic Design
  • Computer Information Systems
  • Computer Science
  • Criminal Justice
  • Cultural Anthropology
  • Elementary Education
  • Engineering
  • English
  • Financial Economics
  • Global Business
  • History
  • Intercultural Ministry (Missions)
  • International Studies
  • Liberal Studies
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • Mass Communication
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Nursing
  • Philosophy
  • Philosophy and Religion
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Pre-Physical Therapy
  • Psychology
  • Recreation and Sports Management
  • Secondary Education
  • Social Work
  • Youth Ministry

Within many of these majors, various specializations (concentrations, emphases, or tracks) or minors are available or are required. Students may find these opportunities listed in the major description sections of this catalog.

Individualized Major: For students whose educational objectives cannot be met by one of the majors given above, the individualized major gives opportunity for students to design a program of study. Each individualized major must be approved by the appropriate curriculum committee. For additional information see the Special Programs chapter.